Snorkelling in The Great Barrier Reef

Seeing The Great Barrier Reef was undoubtedly one of the highlights of all my round-the-world trip. AWESOME!! 🙂

My trip to the Reef started in Port Douglas, which is way nicer than neighbouring Cairns. The North of Queensland feels like a tropical paradise, with sandy beaches, clear turquoise water and palms. Just have a look of the Four Mile Beach from this lookout:

Four mile beach, Port Douglas

Four mile beach, Port Douglas

From either Port Douglas or Cairns, there are heaps of tours that offer snorkelling or diving in The Great Barrier Reef. I took one of them and from the early morning we sailed towards three different spots in the Reef.

Once we got to the Reef, the crew handed out the snorkelling gear, and so I got prepared with this weird look :):

IMG_0926

Prepared to snorkel

And so it’s time to get into the water and get wet!

That's me getting wet

That’s me getting wet

The first impression under the water was just AMAZING!! I could see everything crystal clear, with such strong and beautiful colours. There were many fish wandering about, also with spectacular colours. I had never snorkelled before and I thought I’d see the colours much less bright and everything vague under salt water, but the truth is that I could spot everything really clear. It really feels like being inside a National Geographic documentary!! 🙂

Clownfish

Clownfish

I encourage all of you to do the same. It is not cheap, but it’s worth it. If you have a higher budget, you can also dive, which is more interesting. Or if you have even more time and budget, there are also multi-day scuba diving courses, and I can’t imagine a better setting for taking one of those!

3 thoughts on “Snorkelling in The Great Barrier Reef

  1. Pingback: Haciendo esnórquel en la Gran Barrera de Coral | Un año alrededor del mundo

  2. Pingback: Latino » Blog Archive » Haciendo esnórquel en la Gran Barrera de Coral

  3. Pingback: That’s All Folks!! | A year around the world

Leave a Reply

